Monday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturdays: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sundays: 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Closed Saturdays July 1 through Labor Day
Closed Sundays from Memorial Day - Columbus Day Weekend

MML Annual Essay Contest

For over five years the library’s Outreach Department has run an annual essay contest for Norwood residents. Each year has a different theme. A few of our favorites topics were: “The Bravest Character I Knew” and “My Future Library Will Look Like.” 

Eligibility and Age Categories:

Level 1 (Grades 3-4, Norwood residents only)
Level 2 (Grades 5-8, Norwood residents only)
Level 3 (9th Grade - Adult, Norwood & surrounding towns)


A panel of unbiased judges will select the winning essays. They will use the criteria established on the rubric to evaluate the essays according to 5 equally-weighted categories. These categories are:

  • Addresses Prompt (or Topic)
  • Development and Organization
  • Creativity
  • Voice
  • Craft

Note: English language learners are encouraged to participate.


Three awards will be granted: First, Second and Third Place ($35, $25, $10 Barnes and Noble gift cards, in that order).

Submission Deadline:

2018 Essay contest is now closed. Essays must be submitted to Nancy Ling, at the Outreach Department, or electronically as a Word document to

With gratitude to the Andrew and Ernest J. Boch Memorial Fund for its generous donation that made this contest possible.

Essay Contest Winners

Level 1 (3rd and 4th grade)

First Place = Sylvie Deeks
Second Place = Jordan Shea
Third Place = Reegan Pritchard

Honorable Mention = Bridget Kidd
Honorable Mention = Caden Sheehan
Honorable Mention = Daniel Gomez

Level 2 (5th-8th grade)

First Place = Bridget Stenstrom
Second Place = Thomas Nee
Third Place = Emilia Org

Honorable Mention = Charlotte Martino
Honorable Mention = Mary Flaherty

Level 3 (9th grade-adult)

"Write about any library and what it means to you."
First Place = Alyssa Lahaise                         

Second Place = Aanchal Nigam                  
Third Place = Jonathan Dana                                      

Honorable Mention = Joseph Gallant     
Honorable Mention = Paul Weinbaum  

Translate »